What even is clocking :P

R click
Go to solution Solved by daddrian,

Overclock - force things to work faster.

Examples:

GPU overclock is when you increase core clock from 775MHz to 900MHz (force GPU to work a faster 125MHz on graphics, so higher FPS) , or when you increase memory clock from 1100MHz to 1200MHz (force GPU to transfer graphics to memory at a higher speed).

CPU overclock is when you increase CPU frequency like from 3.5GHz to 4.1GHz.

Overclock is when you aren't pleased with the component and you want more performance out of it. But overclocking also comes with a risk if you don't know what you're doing.

I see a lot of people talking about overclocking and underclocking and all those fancy words :P can someone explain to me what is going on and what do they mean :D just a newbie here :)

Think of overclocking as having your engine in your car rev past its factory redline. It gets hotter, uses more gas, and can sometimes be dangerous, but it usually runs faster and has more power.

On the other hand, underclocking (never heard of it, maybe you mean undervolting?), is like lowering the factory redline of your car. It gets better gas mileage and runs cooler, but has less power and is less fast.

Quote me to see my reply!

SPECS:

CPU: Ryzen 7 3700X Motherboard: MSI B450-A Pro Max RAM: 32GB I forget GPU: MSI Vega 56 Storage: 256GB NVMe boot, 512GB Samsung 850 Pro, 1TB WD Blue SSD, 1TB WD Blue HDD PSU: Inwin P85 850w Case: Fractal Design Define C Cooling: Stock for CPU, be quiet! case fans, Morpheus Vega w/ be quiet! Pure Wings 2 for GPU Monitor: 3x Thinkvision P24Q on a Steelcase Eyesite triple monitor stand Mouse: Logitech MX Master 3 Keyboard: Focus FK-9000 (heavily modded) Mousepad: Aliexpress cat special Headphones:  Sennheiser HD598SE and Sony Linkbuds

🏳️‍🌈

Overclocking is the process of going over the stock multiplier (or clock speed) of the CPU, in an effort to gain more performance from the CPU.