Are NASes vulnerable to ransomware?

Hi, so I am a complete newbie in NASes and servers and I want to have a data backup using an external drive. Accessing the drive remotely would be also good, so I started looking into NASes, but would it be vulnerable to some viruses like the ransomware? 

If it's connected to the internet, it's vulnerable to ransomware (basically).

Spoiler

Don't take my word for it because I have no idea what i'm talking about.

Quote and/or tag people using @ otherwise they don't get notified of your response!

The HUMBLE Computer:

AMD Ryzen 7 3700X • Noctua NH-U12A • ASUS STRIX X570-F • Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL16 • GIGABYTE Nvidia GTX1080 G1 • FRACTAL DESIGN Define C w/ blue Meshify C front • Corsair RM750x (2018) • OS: Kingston KC2000 1TB GAMES: Intel 660p 1TB DATA: Seagate Desktop 2TB • Acer Predator X34P 34" 3440x1440p 120 Hz IPS curved Ultrawide • Corsair STRAFE RGB Cherry MX Brown • Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech MX Master 3

Notebook:  HP Spectre x360 13" late 2018

Core i7 8550U • 16GB DDR3 RAM • 512GB NVMe SSD • 13" 1920x1080p 120 Hz IPS touchscreen • dual Thunderbolt 3

13 minutes ago, vojta.pokorny said:

If it's connected to the internet, it's vulnerable to ransomware (basically).

Reveal hidden contents

Don't take my word for it because I have no idea what i'm talking about.

It is not quite that simple:

First of it depends on the ransome ware:

Most programs (like the recent Wannacry) are targeted at Windows (because of the marketshare and low fragmentation/high compatibility) while most NAS OSes are based on Linux, so your unraid or gnap NAS can't catch it directly.

But there is a catch: if you have permanent write access to your NAS from your PC without needing to log in each time, and you catch ransomeware on your PC the software can encrypt the data on the NAS.

But it is also very possible to attack the NAS directly, however this is far less common and harder to do, as far as I know.