Beginner's help

the_noot

I'm sure this is one of many similar topics, and while I did take the time to look through older topics and read through the resources thread, I still have some general questions that I feel would be better answered by some of the veterans on this forum.

As a background, I'm a student, first year, electronic and telecommunication engineering. Virtually nill high-school programming experience and some of the basic programming proficiency that was enough to pass a programming course with a half decent mark.

Going on however, I really do want to properly learn programming, and the fact that my class lecturer is one of the meaner boys in the bunch is a bonus.

We started off with C for the basic programming course, matrix, recursive functions, working with files, structures etcetera. This semester however we have switched over to C++ for data structures and algorithms and the difficulty spiked up considerably due to the simple fact the one course and one laboratory related to pointers were far from enough, thus, I'm personally in a pickle.

I'll start off with my questions:

As data structures and algorithms are essential for any half decent programmer, and the difference between C and C++ being very small bar some of the integrated libraries which I understand C++ has for making stuff easier, would it be more productive to go back to pointer basics in C, or keep on track with C++? I also need to take my course in mind which kinda implies that I need to make sure I can translate from C to C++ and back constantly.

I understand that C++ is much modern per say, but in real-world application and work field, would it make sense to continue practicing C alongside C++ or just focus on C++?

Talking about Object Oriented programming, I know that C++ is a viable language, however due to uni I'll be very much forced to take the OOP course in Java. Are the core principles for OO the same? Would the switch from C++ to Java be difficult?