has there been a cpu without pins?

has there been one? if not why pins? also on the motherboard what's all the prickly stuff on the back of it? sometimes front (I'm new to building pc's and only know about how fast stuff runs and what's compatible with what and also how to build) I dont know any thing about the small stuff like that

MY MAIN BUILD AT FATHERS HOUSE!

Spoiler

CPU: AMD FX-8300 3.3GHz 8-Core Processor CPU COOLER:  Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P ATX AM3+ Motherboard

RAM: 32gb ddr3

Hard Drive:  Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Graphics Card:  MSI Radeon RX 470 DirectX 12 Radeon RX 470 ARMOR 4G OC 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Case: Rosewill TYRFING ATX Mid Tower Case

Network Adapter:  TP-Link TL-WN781ND PCI-Express x1 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi Adapter

Case Fans:  Corsair Air Series AF140 Quiet Edition 67.8 CFM 140mm Fan (PLUS THE STOCK CASE FAN)

Monitor:  Asus VG248QE 24.0" 1920x1080 144Hz Monitor

Keyboard:  Thermaltake CHALLENGER PRIME Wired Gaming Keyboard

Mouse:  MSI Interceptor DS B1 Wired Optical Mouse

Speakers: Logitech Z200 0W 2ch Speakers

just a short answer data transfer, CPUs are made of things called transistor that executes instructions, pins are the fastest way to interface with a mobo. 

Well intel CPUs don't have pins (although intel sockets do)

pins are needed to have electrical contact.

pads on both sides would suck, because then the CPU would need to be perfectly flat to work, and it simply wouldn't be good.

the stuff on the back is solder points. just sharp and annoying, nothing inherently electrical about them. simply points where stuff is connected to the board.

(you can smooth down the sharp bits if you want and it won't kill the board AFAIK)

QUOTE/TAG ME WHEN REPLYING

Spend As Much Time Writing Your Question As You Want Me To Spend Responding To It.