Is neutral headphones a good start?

eric5143

I am only a beginner and I have only heard of other's review on headphones. I plan to buy a headphone below 200$ first. I am thinking about beyerdynamic dt 880 since I heard it is neutral. My idea is that buying a neutral one won't be bad and when I buy other headphones later I can compare them to the "reference sound". However, I am just a beginner and I have no idea what I am actually talking about. Any advice?

There isn't such a thing as a "neutral" headphone. "Uncolored" is closer to the mark, but even then it's a fuzzy definition.

The DT 880 is bright due to an elevation in the treble from roughly 6-8kHz, and it's slightly lean in the bass department. I would recommend starting with the HD 600 if you want a "reference" headphone.

For less money, the AKG K612 Pro has less of the bright treble coloration of the DT 880.

well a lot of people find "neutral" (which really is uncolored, but most people just say neutral) headphones boring, from my experience with other people trying my headphones, then uncolored is a very love or hate kinda sound.

The K612 is a more uncolored headphone than the dt880, so I would suggest those, if you really want to get uncolored. Of course you can also get the HD600, but those normally cost more than the dt880.

Before you buy amp and dac.  My thoughts on the M50x  Ultimate Ears Reference monitor review I might have a thing for audio...

My main Headphones and IEMs:  K612 pro, HD 25 and Ultimate Ears Reference Monitor, HD 580 with HD 600 grills

DAC and AMP: RME ADI 2 DAC

Speakers: Genelec 8040, System Audio SA205

Receiver: Denon AVR-1612

Desktop: R7 1700, GTX 1080  RX 580 8GB and other stuff

Laptop: ThinkPad P50: i7 6820HQ, M2000M. ThinkPad T420s: i7 2640M, NVS 4200M

Feel free to pm me if you have a question for me or quote me. If you want to hear what I have to say about something just tag me.

Don't get neutral headphones, they're boring!