Advice for getting into coin mining.

I am looking into getting into folding or coin mining. If I did coin mining how much could I make using an i5-2500k and a GTX 570? Would litecoin or bitcoin be better? What is your favorite mining program? 

I am brand new to this and know almost nothing as of now. 

Thanks for the help in advance. 

I don't know about litecoin, but bitcoin is pointless to try and mine. the difficulty is too high, with my 7970 i'd only make an estimated $130 a year, even without having to pay for power

Former Teksyndicate Forum Moderator, IT student

my build: http://pcpartpicker.com/b/FnC

Is there any point to folding? I know it doesn't make money but will it even be worth it for the amount I would contribute? 

Is there any point to folding? I know it doesn't make money but will it even be worth it for the amount I would contribute? 

Every little bit helps.

Does anyone even use PCIe SSDs?

hm.......

[spoiler=CORMAC]CPU:Intel celeron 1.6ghz RAM:Kingston 400mhz 1.99gb MOBO:MSI G31TM-P21 GPU:Will add one later on! CASE:local ROUTER D-Link 2750U, D-LINK 2730U MOUSE:HP,DELL,ViP KEYBOARD: v7 SPEAKERS:Creative 245  MONITOR:AOC E970Sw HEADSET: Sony MDRx05s UPS:conex ups avr 500va PSU:idk OD:Samsung super writemaster STORAGE:80 gb seagate+ Seagate 1TB OS:Windows xp sp3 themed to Windows 7 + Linux |Rest all pc in my house will be updated from time-time

COMING SOON

Don't because the difficulty is just too high and also Nvidia GPUs and CPUs wont make you much money....

CPU: AMD R7 5800x | GPU: XFX 5500XT 4GB | RAM: 2x8GB Kingston Fury Renegade 3600MHz CL16 | Cooling: Deepcool Gammaxx L360 | MB: Aorus B550 Elite V2 | Storage: Samsung 850 Evo 250gb & WD20EAZX | Case: Antec DF700

Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 460: Intel 6200U | 8GB | 256GB SSD | Active pen

Ofc there's a point to folding, you help save lives!

Edit-600th post :)

CPU Overclocking Database <------- Over 275 submissions, and over 40,000 views!