Help needed - out of ideas!

Right i really need some advice as i am out of ideas

Setup is:

ASUS Maximus Hero VIII

Zotac 980 GTX TI Amp Extreme in SLI

Lian Li PC-08 Case

My GFX cards in SLI are not working together - top card is reaching 91 degrees under load - bottom is 60-65 MAX!

They are that big there basically touching - which is whats causing the top card to get so hot as its fans are blocked off

I cannot use the third PCIe slot as its not compatible

Ive tried using a PCIe Riser but theres not enough space for it to allow me to drop the bottom card a little creating a gap for air

Im basically out of ideas

Im not experienced enough for a custom loop nor do i think theres enough space

Im thinking either - change the motherboard to one which would allow me to space the cards out more creating more space for air

Maybe liquid cooling the top card? But im not sure it would fit

Any other ideas are welcomed as im at my wits end with it now

Ive attached a picture so you can see how close they are

Thanks

IMG_3299.JPG

Lack of airflow to the top card as you rightly said in your post.

Does your case have enough room so that you could use a PCI-E Riser Cable(s) to separate them or relocate one of them? (may have to getto it up)

Another option would be to LC them.

Intel I9-9900k (5Ghz) Asus ROG Maximus XI Formula | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4-4133mhz | ASUS ROG Strix 2080Ti | EVGA Supernova G2 1050w 80+Gold | Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB) + (1TB) | Full EK custom water loop |IN-WIN S-Frame (No. 263/500)

Just now, Altecice said:

Lack of airflow to the top card as you rightly said in your post.

Does your case have enough room so that you could use a PCI-E Riser Cable(s) to separate them or relocate one of them? (may have to getto it up)

Another option would be to LC them.

Nope i already tried a PCIe riser, not even close to being able to fit

1 minute ago, Sean- said:

Nope i already tried a PCIe riser, not even close to being able to fit