Painting a Founders Edition GTX 1070?

cantalOPe

I'm thinking about painting the silver aluminium parts of the GTX 1070 Founders Edition white, so it matches my setup better. However, I am new to PC building in general, and even more so to modding PCs, so I was wondering how much disassembly and experience would be required for the task.

Thanks in advance.

Don't buy a Founders edition. Buy an aftermarket cooled card, it will be just as fast if not faster, it can be cheaper and your GPU will run cooler. 

just the screws on the sides

Thats that. If you need to get in touch chances are you can find someone that knows me that can get in touch.

4 minutes ago, Comic_Sans_MS said:

Don't buy a Founders edition. Buy an aftermarket cooled card, it will be just as fast if not faster, it can be cheaper and your GPU will run cooler. 

The thing is it's out of stock, and I only have a small window of time to buy my card, and it probably won't be back in stock before I have to order a card.

3 minutes ago, thekeemo said:

just the screws on the sides

Ok, thank you. That seems manageable for me :P

The Titan style coolers are very easy to take apart. The PCB stays completely attached to the heatsinks. Only the shroud is taken off, which is mainly just a few screws to take apart. 

I disassembled and painted my Titan Black. If you take your time, it's very easy to take apart. 

DNHRSWw.jpg

If you already bought the card and can't do anything about it, yes you can paint it, but I'd advise using something better than plastidip. You don't really need skills or tools. You just need a decent guide and lots of patience and delicacy. 

If you can still get an aftermarket GPU go for it. Blower cards do really suck indeed, thermals are meant just to get the card working (you can get much more performance if you have room to OC), and they are quite noisy indeed. It won't kill you wait a week for a new GPU ;) 

3 minutes ago, Oshino Shinobu said: