What are the difference in making apps for all the OS's

Hi all,

First off i am not a programmer of any kind, (i dont count the programming i did on my Commador 64 as pprogramming skills)

After discussing the topic with a co-worker i continued to wonder what are the differences in making apps for apple, android and windows phone's

If you make something for apple can the app be ported directly to another phone or do you have to start from scratch ?

Can anyone shed some light on this for me.. 

Best regards

Mac

Moved to Programming.

"It pays to keep an open mind, but not so open your brain falls out." - Carl Sagan.

"I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you" - Edward I. Koch

Im not sure about apple but while making games in Unity3D ( for Android ), Unity3D generated APK file for android which u can directly install in your mobile device and check whatever you want you.

Ryzen 5 3600 | MSI B450 Tomahawk Max | Corsair Vengeance lpx 32gb 3600mhz | EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING | XPG Core Reactor 850w

the API - most of the time stuff you write in the code calls for OS functions and tells kernel to do something like for example generate a random number or get system date and time

different OS'es will have different interfaces to do the same thing as well as have entirely different implementations or additional functions or maybe missing functions when you compare between OS'es

generally you have frameworks and IDEs that you program in, they make it easier to port across platforms so you don't have to start from scratch although you might require some minor refinements.

You would also have to possibly redesign the GUI since what looks good and works very well on an Android phone doesn't fit well with a Windows Phone user, there are also guidelines and rules you must adhere if you intend to release the software through it's intended Marketplace - Google Play, iStore, Windows Store.