Development web server and nas

Hello guys,

I'm a web developer for over 10 years now and an enthusiast photographer. Since last month I'm thinking to build a system that will be a testing web server for my projects and also a storage space for my photos and files. At my job, I'm working with linux systems with apache, php, mysql databases. Besides the 50+ videos I've watched on the LinusTechTips channel, I have almost no experience in optimising the hardware resources for what I need. So... my question is... should I buy, let's say, a HP Proliant Micro server Gen9 or I could do better If I'll build the system myself. I'm starting with the following components:
- Pentium G4520 3.6GHz Socket 1151
- Asus H170M Plus Socket 1151
- Kingston HyperX Fury Black 16GB Kit 2x8GB DDR4 2400MHz
- Enermax Platimax 500W 80Plus Platinium Power Supply
- for storage I'll buy some Red WD
So... Is it overkill? Is it too weak? Is it better value for money that HP? 
If you need more info, I'll gladly answer.

Thanks for your help.

Thanks for your reply, but I think that Dell is a bit too much and too big for my needs...

For a webserver and NAS I think it is a bit overkill.  Web servers, depending on what you're hosting (and how many hits you get a day) don't really require all that much of resources.  People are going to  tell you to get ECC for memory, which you can do but if you are going to put your NAS on like a samba share and use ext4 you should be okay I'd think.  

Build it yourself is good.

Im not so sure about the Red WDs vs what you are trying to achieve ... they be NAS drives, which are optimised for NAS.  In which case, you probably want ECC memory as well ?

More info here on hardware selections for NAS, if you want to go the whole enterprisey hog :

http://www.freenas.org/hardware-requirements/