Best Starter Unix OS

Hello everyone, I have a 250gb hdd set to arrive Monday that I plan to run a Unix partition from to use for my software development needs.  However, I have never used a Unix OS before, never Linux or anything.  Im wanted to know what people suggest to start on to learn how to work with the new OS.

Edit: I am thinking of trying Linux Mint Cinnamon, Any thoughts? 

Well technically Linux isn't Unix, hence why GNU stands for GNU's Not Unix. Try a linux distro such as Ubuntu, Mint, or Elementary OS.

[Out-of-date] Want to learn how to make your own custom Windows 10 image?

Desktop: AMD R9 3900X | ASUS ROG Strix X570-F | Radeon RX 5700 XT | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | 32GB Trident Z Neo 3600MHz | 1TB 970 EVO | 256GB 840 EVO | 960GB Corsair Force LE | EVGA G2 850W | Phanteks P400S

Laptop: Intel M-5Y10c | Intel HD Graphics | 8GB RAM | 250GB Micron SSD | Asus UX305FA

Server 01: Intel Xeon D 1541 | ASRock Rack D1541D4I-2L2T | 32GB Hynix ECC DDR4 | 4x8TB Western Digital HDDs | 32TB Raw 16TB Usable

Server 02: Intel i7 7700K | Gigabye Z170N Gaming5 | 16GB Trident Z 3200MHz

... There's not really any such thing as a "best starter Unix OS", because other than OSX, it's almost never ever ever used by the average joe. Start learning how Linux works before you try and tackle the 800lb gorilla that is Unix.