What do you think of this NAS?

njmyers3
Go to solution Solved by MaxTheMonster,

I think that looks great but I would go with lower capacity hard drives, so instead of 2 4TB, 4 2TB this plays nicer with FreeNas and RAM usage.

For PSU, I would get any 500w 80+ Gold, Gold because for a NAS you really do need the reliability, unless you plan to run this 24/7 - In which case I would go for a Redundant PSU - that should work ok.

I'm new to NAS so what do you think of this build? http://pcpartpicker.com/p/PByg6h What PSU should I get? I plan to use Freenas. Any help is appreciated because I don't really know about NAS building.

My main computer:

i7 6700k || GTX 1070 || Asus Z170 RGB || C.M. Hyper 212 EVO || 16GB RAM || 256GB NVMe SSD || 500GB SATA SSD || 12TB total HDD || Define R5 Blackout || 850W PSU

More Details Below :) 

Spoiler

CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k                             GPU:  EVGA GTX 1070 FTW                                  |  Motherboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Aura
CPU Cooler: C.M. Hyper 212 EVO             RAM: 16GB Kingston Fury 4x4 DDR4 2400MHz         SSD:  Intel 256GB NVMe SSD & Plextor 500GB SATA SSD

Hard Drive:  WD 2TB Black, 2TB WD Blue, 8TB WD Red     Case:  Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition   PSU:  Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W

Additional Computer Parts: NZXT Hue for LEDs

Peripherals: Dell U2414H (x2) || Corsair Sabre RGB || Corsair K95 Platinum || Sennheiser 558's || Modmic

Pictures of setup:

I think that looks great but I would go with lower capacity hard drives, so instead of 2 4TB, 4 2TB this plays nicer with FreeNas and RAM usage.

For PSU, I would get any 500w 80+ Gold, Gold because for a NAS you really do need the reliability, unless you plan to run this 24/7 - In which case I would go for a Redundant PSU - that should work ok.

amnerd  B) Linux enthusiast.