Corsair DDR4 Help!

Hi all,

I'm having trouble choosing the right ddr4 ram. I'm a noob and I don't really understand the difference between c14, c15, 16 or 2400, 2666, 2800 etc...

I've been looking at 3 kits by corsair which are priced roughly the same but I'm sure there's some differences which I don't understand. These are the kits:

Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX4M4A2666C15 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 15-17-17-35

Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB (4x4GB) 2800MHz DDR4  16-18-18-36,

Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2400C14 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 14-16-16-31 (slightlyy more expensive due to the extra gb)

If anyone could help explain the differences and let me know which is all around better it would be a great help.

Thanks.

look for the lower CAS RAM over faster MHz RAMs

also look away from the Dominators and look at the cheaper models

Budget? Uses? Currency? Location? Operating System? Peripherals? Monitor? Use PCPartPicker wherever possible. 

Quote whom you're replying to, and set option to follow your topics. Or Else we can't see your reply.

RAM is RAM, Dominator Platinum are one of the most expensive type of memory.

The difference between the speeds make almost no difference in performance, unless doing media creation.

Just get whatever is the cheapest, you don't even need to get Dominator Platinum, they are so expensive because of their appearance. 

You don't need 32GB, just get 16GB.

If you really want Dominator Platinum, go for 2400mhz 16GB.

|CPU: Intel 5960X|MOBO:Rampage V Extreme|GPU:EVGA 980Ti SC 2 - Way SLI|RAM:G-Skill 32GB|CASE:900D|PSU:CorsairAX1200i|DISPLAY :Dell U2412M X3|SSD Intel 750 400GB, 2X Samsung 850 Pro|

Peripherals : | MOUSE : Logitech G602 | KEYBOARD: K70 RGB (Cherry MX Brown) | NAS: Synology DS1515+  - WD RED 3TB X 5|ROUTER: AC68U

Sound : | HEADPHONES: Sennheiser HD800 SPEAKERS: B&W CM9 (Front floorstanding) ,  B&W CM Center 2 (Centre) | AV RECEIVER : Denon 3806 | MY X99 BUILD LOG!