Graphics card advice GTX 970 vs GTX 960

Hello everyone, I'm very much a novice at PC hardware and I bought a PC about two years ago and I'm looking to upgrade my GPU, without spending a whole lot of money
Current Specs
Processor: AMD FX-6300 Six-Core Processor 

GPU: GeForce GT 640

Memory: 16.00 GB RAM

Power Supply: 450W

Case: Cooler Master Elite 430

I've been told by some friends that the 970 would be the best way to go, and from reviews and videos i've seen, its a lot better than the 960, but also more expensive.

I wont be doing and 4k gaming on it, or even multiple monitors (for the foreseeable future)

and most likely will just be playing games at 1080p and 60fps or more, so would I be fine with the 960 at 1080p? 

Again, i'm very new to all of this, so if anyone can help me out, that would be greatly appreciated 

(also, would I need to upgrade power supply or cpu cooling? if so, are there any you recommend that would fit my case?)

Thanks 

I think you'll be fine with the 960.

CPU: Intel Core I7 4790k @ 4.0ghz MOBO: Asus z97-A GPU:  EVGA 970 SSC SLI  RAM: Kingston HyperX 8GB 1866  PSU: Corsair HX850W STORAGE: Kingston SSD 120GB, 1TB WD, 500GB WD CASE: NZXT H440

The GTX 960 can manage GTA 5 high settings at around 60fps. Its a great card and will give you great performance for the foreseeable future

Hello everyone, I'm very much a novice at PC hardware and I bought a PC about two years ago and I'm looking to upgrade my GPU, without spending a whole lot of money

Current Specs

Processor: AMD FX-6300 Six-Core Processor 

GPU: GeForce GT 640

Memory: 16.00 GB RAM

Power Supply: 450W

Case: Cooler Master Elite 430

I've been told by some friends that the 970 would be the best way to go, and from reviews and videos i've seen, its a lot better than the 960, but also more expensive.

I wont be doing and 4k gaming on it, or even multiple monitors (for the foreseeable future)