Which is the quietest GTX 970?

TheSven

The Windforce if you want it to be as silent as possible under heavy load

The Strix if you want it silent under low load like movie watching but louder at heavier loads.

My Gaming PC

|| CPU: Intel i5 4690@4.3Ghz || GPU: Dual ASUS gtx 1080 Strix. || RAM: 16gb (4x4gb) Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600Mhz. || Motherboard: MSI Z97S Krait edition. || OS: Win10 Pro

Trust me, Im an Engineer

Since when are windforce cooler the quietest?

i don,t know where they've took that idea either...the windforce cooler is the loudest of them all and it always has been...tripple fan design are louder they always are because 3 small fans will always be louder than 2 bigger fans, it's logical.

OP the quietest cards amongst those mentionned are the Asus Strix and the MSI gaming card, both are about the same in the noise department.

| CPU: Core i7-8700K @ 4.89ghz - 1.21v  Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING  CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i V2 |
| GPU: MSI RTX 3080Ti Ventus 3X OC  RAM: 32GB T-Force Delta RGB 3066mhz |
| Displays: Acer Predator XB270HU 1440p Gsync 144hz IPS Gaming monitor | Oculus Quest 2 VR

noise [dba] under load:

z3QSX3k.png

It's odd that site reports it so much higher than Tomshardware

7bacd40d83.png

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/nvidia-geforce-gtx-980-970-maxwell,3941-15.html

-The Bellerophon- Obsidian 550D-i5-3570k@4.5Ghz -Asus Sabertooth Z77-16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866Mhz-x2 EVGA GTX 760 Dual FTW 4GB-Creative Sound Blaster XF-i Titanium-OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB-Seagate Barracuda 2TB- https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/60154-the-not-really-a-build-log-build-log/ Twofold http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/121043-twofold-a-dual-itx-system/ How great is EVGA? http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/110662-evga-how-great-are-they/#entry1478299

noise [dba] under load:

z3QSX3k.png

Can confirm, my MSI 4g 970 is silent under normal gaming load. My HD Blue is louder for comparison.

The Grey Squirrel