'Laptop' Consoles?

Mrbrynt

From http://www.kitguru.net/desktop-pc/console-desktop-pc/matthew-wilson/you-can-now-buy-the-ps4-and-xbox-one-in-laptop-form/

Consoles aren’t the most portable things in the world but Ed Zarick looks to be changing that by showing off and selling the PlayBook 4 and Xbook One- laptop versions of Sony and Microsoft’s latest consoles. However, you’ll need to have a wedge of disposable income in order to afford one as they both cost close to £1000/$1500.

Zarick is a self-taught engineer who was also responsible for previously creating a portable Xbox 360, the Xbook 360. Last month, he began selling the Xbook One, featuring a 22 Inch Vizio 1080p LED TV and the console itself packaged in a 3D printed and laser cut case.  Zarick has run through the process of turning a console in to a laptop on his own website, Edsjunk.

141336287139-e1413367774987.jpg

The process for the Playbook 4 is presumably exactly the same, featuring a 22″ Vizio 1080p LED TV and a 3D printed and laser cut case for the console. As you can see in the image above too, these laptop versions can be a bit chunky, the PS4 as we are used to seeing it is actually fairly small. Both consoles come with a HDMI out so that they can still be plugged in to a TV as a console rather than just being used as a laptop.

Apparently, demand for these is actually quite high, the Xbook One goes for $1500 plus $75 extra for shipping inside of the US, international shipping will cost extra. The Playbook 4 on the other hand goes for $1400 with shipping charged as extra. Buyers are required to pay a $750.00 non-refundable upfront deposit in order to be added to the waiting list.

"PC gaming is too expensive."