770 vs. 780

lachyman

Hey guys,

I want to buy a new card as the 660 I have now is simply not cutting it anymore, but there is a twist. I need the card for a specific amount of time which I dubbed "trasition time". Basically the time from now until 4K gets mature - affordable 4K IPS/PLS panels, effective GPU solutions, adopted SW. That should take 2 years at most. Now I have 2 options, a 770 ACX for €300 now or a 780 ACX for €400, but in September. I only want ACX because of my planned project and it's the easiest to mod since I'm a beginner. I need the card to deliver good performance at 1080p for the entire time, max out BF4 (which I'm sure both cards can) and run other current games at high/ultra settings, and run upcoming games at medium/high settings.

I think the 780 can deliver results I want, but is the 770 powerful enough to make it as well?

My rig: CPU: Intel core i5 4670K MoBo: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming RAM: Kingston HyperX Beast 2x4GB 1600mhz CL9 GPU: EVGA GTX780 SC ACX SSD: ADATA Premier Pro SP900 256GBHDD: Western Digital RED 2TB PSU: FSP Aurum CM 750W Case: Cooler Master HAF XM OS: Windows 8 Pro

My Build log, the Snowbird (heavy WIP): http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/188011-snowbird-by-lachy/?hl=snowbird

If you can afford the 780 just get it. It is not worth buying the 770 and realising it is not good enough for you thus making you return and get the 780 anyway. 

Also consider the R9 290.

Don't forget the ol' R9 290. TRI-X or VAPOR-X or Windforce cooler.

"How hard can it be?" - Jeremy Clarkson

"Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you." - Jeremy Clarkson

"There's an old saying that God exists in your search for him. I just want you to understand that I ain't looking." - Leslie Nielsen