Switching to Linux - How to adapt to Linux (fast?) and Dual boot help.

Linux: Getting started
Any guides or methods to get the hang of the operations system better/quicker? The best advice is probably to choose a distro, install it and get going with it which is fair advice. If doing that, what's something one might do that is generally useful for a Linux user/developer but considered "hard" to do? I could get some practice that way in trying to figure it out.

I am a CS student and have had to use the CLI for uni here and there but wouldn't say I know my way around it, not really. University work is also the reason I am scared to change OS mid-term without knowing much about it u know? I am trying Linux Mint in Hyper-V for now (which has a lot of annoying problems such as a lack of a GPU, audio output etc so I tend to not use it regularly). While using Mint, when trying to do even the simplest of tasks, I get distracted and go down rabbit holes and end up achieving nothing/wasting a lot of time which is the main reason for this question. Having something to follow (e.g. a guide or tutorial or tips from regular Linux users) is helpful for me in avoiding distraction. Any advice or help is greatly appreciated here. 

Summary of why I am thinking of switching to Linux:

• Lighter - better on the PC and I think better for remote work
  • (Supposedly) More secure
  • (Supposedly) Better for developers
  • Experimentation (with CLI or just development experience on Linux in general) 
  • (?)Setting up a VPN for remote access to my home PC and local resources from outside
  • Bragging rights

Dual booting