APU/iGPU VRAM Limit

PC HEROES

Hello all....

I know that back when the Vega Integrated Graphics came out and even before Ryzen was available we were limited to only 2GB of VRAM that came from the System RAM. So if you had a 16GB Kit and were using Integrated Graphics it would lower your System RAM to 14GB.

I was wondering if this has changed and the limit has increased? It would be nice if we could increase it to 8GB for a Lower End eSports/Emulation PC.

I have been building PCs for over 30 years so if you have any questions please ask. For Future Communication I use Discord for much Faster Response Times as I have it open 24/7. I am also available if you need help before, during, or after the Build Process on Discord through Text,Voice, or Video Chat. I can be with you while you build your new PC if you need me to be. Here is my Discord: Wizardsnapper#2772

If I enable the iGPU on my 5800H (Zen 3) that by default reserves 2GB of system ram. The bios allows me to reduce it but recommends against it. I found the best option was to disable it totally and stick to dGPU.

Anyway, there wouldn't really be much point in reserving more for it. I think the 2GB is for the driver/hardware to know there will always be that available. If needs increase beyond that, it will dynamically take it out of the rest of the system pool.

On a dGPU hitting system ram as overflow is bad because of how slow it is. On iGPU it is the same ram so the same performance. Increasing it doesn't change that.

Gaming system: R7 7800X3D, Asus ROG Strix B650E-F Gaming Wifi, Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE ARGB, Corsair Vengeance 2x 32GB 6000C30, RTX 4070, MSI MPG A850G, Fractal Design North, Samsung 990 Pro 2TB, Acer Predator XB241YU 24" 1440p 144Hz G-Sync + HP LP2475w 24" 1200p 60Hz wide gamut
Productivity system: i9-7980XE, Asus X299 TUF mark 2, Noctua D15, 64GB ram (mixed), RTX 3070, NZXT E850, GameMax Abyss, Samsung 980 Pro 2TB, random 1080p + 720p displays.