Buying a gaming laptop

Man, just like Linus has said countless times, trying to research and buy a gaming laptop is one of the most convoluted and frustrating things out there in tech. I'm trying to buy a laptop for college and some decent gaming, I'm not trying to play Crisis or Microsoft Flight Simulator, but I'd like something decent.

Right now, the specs I'm looking for is:

• 16gb DDR4 or better
  • A decent quad of hex core CPU that allows me to run simulators or intese calculations (I'm an enginering student)
  • A 2070 or better (for a bit of future proofing, I don't want some 1650 or something)
  • Decent battery life so it can last a few classes
  • I don't need crazy storage because I already have an SSD I'll just throw in
  • I don't really care about the display, though 75hz or above wouldn't be bad

I've been looking just about everywhere, and I cant find anything under $ 1,000 which i know seems optimistic, but I feel like these requirements aren't too crazy, I'm not even asking for DDR5 or a 4000 series gpu. I'm paranoid about over paying for a name brand rather than a quality product. Maybe I'm way left field here, and I know I'm not the first or the last person to complain about this, but man, buying a laptop is such a pain.

4 minutes ago, Rocgio40 said:

I don't need crazy storage because I already have an SSD I'll just throw in

it's an m.2 one right?

4 minutes ago, Rocgio40 said:

Man, just like Linus has said countless times, trying to research and buy a gaming laptop is one of the most convoluted and frustrating things out there in tech. I'm trying to buy a laptop for college and some decent gaming, I'm not trying to play Crisis or Microsoft Flight Simulator, but I'd like something decent.

Right now, the specs I'm looking for is:

• 16gb DDR4 or better
  • A decent quad of hex core CPU that allows me to run simulators or intese calculations (I'm an enginering student)