Purpose of PSU's PCIe cable tail?

EchoEcho
Go to solution Solved by Hinjima,
1 minute ago, EchoEcho said:

Disclaimer: I did do a quick search to see if anyone else was having this issue, watched multiple videos, and consulted the manuals for my parts (the PSU only has a safety pamphlet). I also used PC part picker and did not get any compatibility errors.

I am a first time PC builder so please bear with me. I have been following the PC build guide on LTT's Youtube channel. I am about to test my machine before installing into my case, but I'm worried about my PSU's PCIe cable. The PCIe cable has a another 8 pin (6+2), tailed to the end of it. Is this supposed to also go into another GPU or somewhere else? Or do I have the wrong cable and need to cover it up? Or buy a different one?

Images and specs are below.

This is the link to the PSU's information (page 6).

Specs:

OS: Haven't installed yet, but will use Windows 11 Home.

Mobo: ASUS Prime Z790-P WiFi LGA1700 ATX

CPU: Intel Core i7-13700K

GPU: MSI GeForce RTX 3060 12GB

CPU Cooler: Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE RGB

RAM: G.Skill RipJaws S5 Series (Intel XMP) 32GB(2x16GB) DDR5

Storage: Kingston NV2 1TB M.2 2280 NVME PCIe 4.0 SSD

PSU: Corsair RMX Series (2021) RM1000x Gold Fully Modular (1000 watt max)

Case: Lian Li Lancool 216 RGB ATX

IMG_6618.jpeg

IMG_6620.jpeg

That extra 8 ( 6+2 ) pin is for graphics cards with more than one 8 pin power connector. You can use this cable no problem, ziptie the extra cable to the existing cable that is in your GPU to make it look a bit nicer. Nothing to worry about here.

Disclaimer: I did do a quick search to see if anyone else was having this issue, watched multiple videos, and consulted the manuals for my parts (the PSU only has a safety pamphlet). I also used PC part picker and did not get any compatibility errors.