(Newdie) Need help creating a remote access server for Video Editing.

I'm a video editor that works from home and I work for and with a few clients that deal with filming in heavy raw footage, and a lot of it. As such, I need to drive to them in order to pick up the hard drive and drive back home to off load the footage and edit, which also tends to take up a lot of storage. I know that a server will help with my storage issue, but I am recently coming across another issue that I have to move/travel out of state for a time. I've looked at many videos and the like as to where to start but either there seems to be a step missing or there is something not connecting in my brain for me to understand what to do.

This is what I have so far:

• hp pavilion 5000 series model number 500-037c running windows 8 that I hope to make the server from
  • stock parts:
    • MS-7778 (JasmineR)

• AMD A10-5700

• 12 Gb of DDR3-1600 ram

• 2 TB 7200 rpm ssd

• 2 Seagate IronWolf Pro 12TB NAS Internal Hard Drive

• and a dream

I would like to try and create a server which I can access while I am on the go so that I don't lose my clients and work. The point/goal of the server is so that I can hopefully have my clients upload the footage they would like me to edit directly to the server; and so I would only need to download the footage I need to edit and store everything else in terms of (old footage and/or projects) on the server, freeing up space on my local computer.

What else do I need to do/upgrade in order to get where I want to go?

Thank you.

heavy raw footage will be very hard to access over a remote network. the performance on the timeline will be terrible. So you wouldn't be editing/working on the server footage.

I don't think this is really what you expected but it's not clear so i want to make sure to rule that out.