Need help with making procedure to deploy to test and production servers

Filingo

I am a not so experienced developer and I moved to a new workplace where the senior left and I am the most experienced there. . .🤦 Which is bad.

But I know the way they deploy to their test and production servers is not good. This is how things work right now:

They only have 1 branch in git.. the master branch. They do everything on it. Not even making new branches for new features. Just work on master and push/pull to master.

And how they deploy? They pull the latest changes and upload the entire folder every time to the test/production server via RDP (Windows Server)

I wanted to do what we were doing in the previous work place. But I don't know exactly what/how they were doing it. I just know we had test branch and master branch (And perhaps more that I haven't encountered since I did not deal with it too much)

So I suggested them to do the same here: create a new test branch, and every time they have any new thing to do: fix a bug, make a feature, update a feature and so on, create a new branch from the test branch, and if it's ok push to test branch and merge.

If everything works, merge with master.

Is it ok? But then I am left with the other thing: How to actually deploy it? How do I stop this routine of copying the entire folders to the servers?

Should I install git in both test and production server, and then pull the test branch to the test server and pull the master branch to production? I remember where I worked before they had something called "tag" before they were deploying to production/test. Though not sure exactly the procedure.

What would you recommend?

Ty