SFP+ Compatibility

Dschulz72

Hey all. I'm fairly new to the NAS and home server world. I've been running Unraid on my server for about a year now, and I'm starting to add more services to my machine. 

Since I'm adding more services/devices and I just moved into a new place, I intended to upgrade the link from my unraid box to my switch to 10GbE. So I bought a Dell Poweredge 6224 switch and a Mellanox ConnectX-3 SFP+ NIC. I wired them up using a Dell active DAC cable and just nothing. No lights, no connection, nothing. I think I bought the wrong cable to connect them, but I'm not sure. I did order a passive cable that should be here in a day or so. Documentation on this stuff is pretty dense.

Anyone out there know what I'm doing wrong? I realize SFP/SFP+/QSFP isn't as straightforward as RJ45. 

AsRock z77 Pro3, i5 3570K@4.6GHz, PNY GTX 1060 6GB, Lite-on 256 GB SSD, Acer 257HU 1440p monitor, Windows 10 Pro and Ubuntu 16.04. All in a weird OLD Lian Li case.

Did you configure the ports? I'm pretty sure the dell ports need to be brought up and are shutdown by default.

Current Network Layout:

Current Build Log/PC:

Prior Build Log/PC:

If I select the port in the web interface it shows the link as 'Down' but the admin status is 'Enable'.

AsRock z77 Pro3, i5 3570K@4.6GHz, PNY GTX 1060 6GB, Lite-on 256 GB SSD, Acer 257HU 1440p monitor, Windows 10 Pro and Ubuntu 16.04. All in a weird OLD Lian Li case.

10 minutes ago, Dschulz72 said:

If I select the port in the web interface it shows the link as 'Down' but the admin status is 'Enable'.

Enable or enabled? If the first then they are still off

It says 'Enable', not 'Enabled'. It is a drop-down; the options are just 'Enable' and 'Disable'. Would it be fair to wait for the new (passive) DAC cable?

I wouldn't even bother with SFP+ really with UnRAID, unless youre writing/reading a lot from cache pools. 

Spoiler