Turning old PC into "NAS" via thunderbolt 4

I am currently using a Lenovo Legion 7i with an i9, 3080 mobile, 1tb main drive (m.2 gen 4), 1tb scratch disk (1tb m.2 gen 3) and a 64gb ram update in a couple days.

My profession is video editing, and I travel enough that having a laptop like this is more practical then a desktop (i have a custom dock at home to keep it cool enough for the 3080).

I have a bulldozer build with 8 cores and 32gb of ram running primo cache as a NAS at the moment. I use the NAS specifically to hold games and other applications like UE5 or blender as I don't have enough room on the laptop for both my video projects and Unreal projects or games.

I would like to connect this pc to my laptop via Thunderbolt 4, that way I don't have to saturate it's network connection if I want to play games while my NAS is syncing footage at night.

My plan was to buy a thunderbolt 4 pcie card that would allow me to connect the 2 computers together. But, the one I found was by asus and required an asus motherboard to function properly (I think?).

If anyone has a suggestion on how go about this please let me know. There might be a switch/pcie nic or raspberry pie combo that could get the job done just as well, but I really want my laptop to load at the same speed as just having a standalone desktop. Maybe even faster since the NAS is using its own resources to write/read/cache...

I plan to continue researching this but I figure there are some people here who could stop me from wasting time on a bad solution.

thanks!

if im not mistaken you can't use TB on old motherboard. the chipset must support TB.

Ryzen 5700g @ 4.4ghz all cores | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 3060 | 2x 16gb Micron E 2666 @ 4200mhz cl16 | 500gb WD SN750 | 12 TB HDD | Deepcool Gammax 400 w/ 2 delta 4000rpm push pull | Antec Neo Eco Zen 500w

Correct, TB needs mobo support and if not built-in the add-on card has to be the one designed to work with the mobo by the same manufacturer.

F@H