Which is the best OS for 4 CPU’s?

G3R489

I need some help with a couple of servers, all are 4 cpu opteron 6380’s running windows server 2008 r2

is there a better OS I should I use for a Power Edge R815 

Also I’ve never tried this before on anything but raspberry pi’s, but is there a way to ‘cluster’ or ‘stack’ them at a later date? I’ve seen a gentleman online do a Linux based cluster but have no clue how

I have in total 2 R815’s, Another 2 nodes with identical specs that I was hoping to try cluster, Aswell as an unrelated dual Xeon based, dual Titan render server at the ready, all of which are connected by fiberoptic (Lc-Lc) but if required I have a few 4 port Ethernet cards from around the same date laying about

TL;DR - what is best OS for multi Cpu and is it possible to ‘stack’ systems

Well first of all those are horribly old and slow CPUs, I'd look at selling them off and buying something newer and better that will be vastly faster.

As to clustering, you need to be aware that this doesn't allow a single VM, container, application, process to span across multiple systems. Clustering allows you to move these easily between systems and also treat them as a single management entity to deploy these types of services on to.

If you have a rather fixed requirement like a single piece of software then the best OS will be the one that this application is best supported or runs best on. If you need to host many different things then a Hypervisor like ESXi/Hyper-V/KVM(or KVM based derivatives) would be the best choice.

We'd need to know more about your intended usage of these servers to give good advice, however the general advice that those Opteron 6380 are older than their practical use today so honestly just shouldn't be used at all.

The Linux family of operating systems is the best for multi-CPU and cluster setups. Period. There's a reason that every single one of the top supercomputers in the world runs Linux: it's the best for that type of computer.