OMG I FORMATTED THE WRONG DRIVE HEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!

Ninjasupahsquid

I am a major dumbass... If you want the short story of how I got into this predicament... here VVVVV

But the more detailed explanation is this...

I have a drive (F:)  and it has all my important shit on it, Documents, Family Photos, My music collection, my movie collection, My Pictures (I'm an amateur Photographer)

Its a 5tb portable external hard drive I've stored shit on it for like 3 years now... recently it started giving me errors like "there's something wrong with this device" or something like that.... So I thought I'll move all the important shit to my server and put it on the (E:) Drive in the server... so that's what I did... I started the transfer and played some games on my main rig while it did it... I noticed on my second monitor that the transfer was complete and that all the important shit had been moved from drive (F:) to drive (E:)... So I went to right click drive (F:) to format it and hit enter a couple of times... until I realized that the format was for 2TB... not 5TB... OH SHIT I CLICKED THE WRONG DRIVE... So I spammed the cancel button as quick as I could and then tried to access my files on the (E:) Drive... and low and behold... Its not readable... gives me an error that it cannot be read and I fear that all my files are lost... I'm not entirely sure how a format works... I think it flips all the bits on a drive to a 0 to completely erase any data... I really hope this isn't the case... It was just doing an NTFS quick format and only was going for like a second or two.

So... I know there are services out there where I ship out the drive and they grab the data and give it to me... I don't like that idea because I'm a little strapped for cash right now and I don't feel comfortable sending a fragile hard drive with  important data on it to god knows where on a FedEx truck...