Elp!!! Brand new comp, i12900k. 100C shutdown!

JanKaare

Help!! 

Just got my brand new desktop pc built. Felt like I did a good job, even though this is my first time. Double checked most procsesses throughout building the PC. Cant see what is wrong.

The PC starts, all fans work. It boots to Bios, then the CPU temp goes gradually up to 100 degrees C, then the pc freezes. I feel warmth in the area around the CPU. Took a picture of the BIOS after it froze. Tried to start it again, but shut strsight down after 4 seconds.  

Took out the batteries in the cmos. Waited 10 min and tried again. The PC booted inti BIOS, the cpu was 80 degrees, went to 100 within 1 minute and froze again. 

Please help, what could be the issue here?? In all the research before building and watching tech videos over the years, I have not ecountered info on the particular problem, so I feel completely clueless. 

Any tips for a step by step to try to fix the issue?? Was careful when mounting the CPU. Peeled plastic off cooling block, applied enough thermal paste, checked it before completing the mount. The BIOS shows that the CPU-cooler is working. And why would even the CPU go to freaking 100 degrees just by being in BIOS? 

The CPU was sold by a professional company as bulk, and not in box. 

IMG_20211210_203447.jpg

RAM is supposed to be 3200, thought I'd fix that after installing windows. 

Cooler is Arctic Freezer ii 360mm with the upgraded LGA 1700 mounting bracket. 

PSU is Rog Strix 850W gaming 80+Gold 

Case is BeQuiet 500DX

Hi,

Good job for 1st build, it posts in one go, so thats good.

Ill give my thoughts, but wait for 2 or more responses as others might have other/better ideas that might involve less rework to try first.

Sounds to me like uneven mounting pressure of the cooler, or perhaps a blob of paste somehwere preventing good even contact.

Remove the cooler and check both coldplat and ihs for even spread/contact.