Need pointers for a computer specs for a car for possibly level 5 autonomy.

Budget (including currency):  $1500, maybe $2000, yes $2000

Country: Bulgaria, what does it have to do with the question?

Games, programs or workloads that it will be used for: mostly self driving, object detection etc.

Other details (existing parts lists, whether any peripherals are needed, what you're upgrading from, when you're going to buy, what resolution and refresh rate you want to play at, etc): I think I am an experienced software engineer, self thought, and decided to start a new hobby - build a self driving car from scratch, I mean the software is going to be from scratch, the car maybe second-hand one.

The goal is to achieve level 5 autonomy.

I need help for building the computer for the car. Can anyone give me some pointers, please?

17 minutes ago, bulgedition said:

I think I am an experienced software engineer, self thought, and decided to start a new hobby - build a self driving car from scratch, I mean the software is going to be from scratch, the car maybe second-hand one. […] The goal is to achieve level 5 autonomy.

You do understand that companies like Waymo (Google/Alphabet) and many others have put billions into this goal for several years already, right? And we're nowhere near full level 5 autonomy yet. Sorry, but this really is not something you can build in your garage on a shoestring budget.

Remember to either quote or @mention others, so they are notified of your reply

honestly if you don't have the program written yet, we can't really give you advice. If you have no idea whether the program is cpu/gpu/ram bound there's no point in speccing out a build. supposing that you can build the car/ software in the first place.

24 minutes ago, bulgedition said:

Country: Bulgaria, what does it have to do with the question?

lets us check part availability and pricing in your region.

AMD blackout rig

cpu: ryzen 5 3600 @4.4ghz @1.35v

gpu: rx5700xt 2200mhz