How to Progress from Being a Beginner

Go to solution Solved by Flojer0,

For me the most import thing has always been to find something I like working on and running with that for as long as possible. If unity does that then go for it. That would actually be a good step because you can stick with event driven programming for a little longer and get use to a different environment. Beyond that any of the languages Unity supports will let you do whatever you want. But if you want to learn something you can carry beyond unity then C# is where you want to go since none of the others follow standards.

Hello, I am a bit new to programming with only a few highschool classes of experience. In my school, they only used VB and had an introduction to Java for one class only. I was looking into getting into unity to start getting back into working with code, and I am wonering what code should I learn for unity. Like i said, I have no experience with anything outside of Visual Basic, and I am willing to take any sugestions.

Also: if you think i should start with something other than unity, that would be a great help so that i don't get into anything that is over my head.

Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5 GHz                               DCUII GTX 680                            16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM

Sabertooth Z77 ATX                                      WD Caviar Blue 500GB+ 1TB      Corsair Obsidian 750D

Corsair TX850M Watt PSU                            Bad Custom Water Cooling          Samsung 840 Pro SSD

I would start with python.

Like i said, I already have some experience with coding so i don't really need to learn the basics again, I was mostly focussing on where to go from a Visual Basic, because it is made for beginners and I want to be able to do more.

Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5 GHz                               DCUII GTX 680                            16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM