Is my delidded cpu damaged after delidding and would it still work

Go to solution Solved by WereCatf,
1 minute ago, GougedKirby522 said:

--

I'm not an expert at delidding, never bothered with it myself, but the core looks fine to me. The bare copper on the side is kinda worrisome, though. It most likely is just the ground-plane and I doubt there's any traces running so far, close to the edge on the top-layer, so it is probably still fine. Might not be a good idea to have the IHS touching that part directly, though, so maybe cover it with a layer of clear nail-polish or something similar.

Is my delidded cpu damaged after delidding and would it still work

How about posting a couple of better pictures?

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

5 minutes ago, WereCatf said:

How about posting a couple of better pictures?

IMG_20200619_094748.jpg

--

I'm not an expert at delidding, never bothered with it myself, but the core looks fine to me. The bare copper on the side is kinda worrisome, though. It most likely is just the ground-plane and I doubt there's any traces running so far, close to the edge on the top-layer, so it is probably still fine. Might not be a good idea to have the IHS touching that part directly, though, so maybe cover it with a layer of clear nail-polish or something similar.

Hand, n. A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody’s pocket.

2 minutes ago, WereCatf said:

Thanks

10 minutes ago, GougedKirby522 said:

IMG_20200619_094748.jpg

should be fine.. i don't see a point in delidding a old pentium that is Already soldered to the ihs

Just now, Fennie said:

should be fine.. i don't see a point in delidding a old pentium that is Already soldered to the ihs

lol i have an lga 775 server and i had that old celeron lying around from 04 so i decided to delid for some practice

1 minute ago, Fennie said: