OnePlus 7 Review

FakeCIA

When searching for a smartphone to upgrade to when going into the end of 2019, there were way too many options that were suitable for my use case. I was searching for something that could handle some minimal gaming, that had a large battery, and a decent speaker setup. While I could've hit one of the sales on a Razer Phone 2, I found that the unique look of that device would get me the wrong kind of attention in the area where I live. I also didn't want to get a really expensive phone, like the Samsung Galaxy Note 9, for the same reason. My budget was 500$USD. I began my quest to find a smartphone that would, at least, last me the next five years before I blow it up with C-4 (Made by Samsung). So, I went with the OnePlus 7 standard edition. It is mirror gray with 8GB's of RAM with 256GB's of storage, powered by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 chipset. I've been using this device as my daily driver for the last 3 months.

To start off, I've tried multiple skins of Android, but OxygenOS, developed directly by OnePlus, is probably the cleanest in terms of bloat and speed. It does come with Netflix preinstalled, but that can easily be disabled with permissions in the settings and further restricted with third-party security apps like Malwarebytes. Considering I've used the Pocophone, Netflix is certainly better than Facebook, and people actually use it. Animations within the UI are quick and I haven't experienced any lag, even when I have several RAM hungry programs open. This may be different for you depending on how many games and intense editing programs you have set up.