i5 6600k need some help

Hey everyone,

I want to start by saying I'm a complete beginner on this, so don't judge my thinking, I'm here to ask YOU for help.

I've recently started playing Battlefield 5 on my pc, it has an i5 6600K cooled by the Corsair H100i and an ASUS 980ti strix (6gb)

I noticed that my CPU always goes to 100% at 65-67°C, while my GPU is only at 80% (70°C)

I thought those CPU temperatures were very high for running @ 4.5Ghz. so I did some further investigating and found out that it's running on 1.44 Vcore voltage.

the Vcore is set to AUTO in the BIOS.

I'm trying to get more out of my pc while maintaining +- 65°C on my CPU

do I have a really bad chip or is the AUTO voltage setting just really bad?

spacer.png

The auto setting is always much higher than needed. You may be able to get 5ghz with that voltage. If you're overclocking, then set a -offset vcore in bios. For 4.5ghz try hitting 1.2-1.25v under load.

CPU: Ryzen 5800X3D | Motherboard: Gigabyte B550 Elite V2 | RAM: G.Skill Aegis 2x16gb 3200 @3600mhz | PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G3 | Monitor: LG 27GL850-B , Samsung C27HG70 | 
GPU: Red Devil RX 7900XT | Sound: Odac + Fiio E09K | Case: Fractal Design R6 TG Blackout |Storage: MP510 960gb and 860 Evo 500gb | Cooling: CPU: Noctua NH-D15 with one fan

FS in Denmark/EU:

Asus Dual GTX 1060 3GB. Used maximum 4 months total. Looks like new. Card never opened. Give me a price. 

23 minutes ago, Gedigan123 said:

or is the AUTO voltage setting just really bad?

^this

always use manual voltage when overclocking. that being said,

24 minutes ago, Gedigan123 said:

I noticed that my CPU always goes to 100% at 65-67°C, ...

I thought those CPU temperatures were very high for running @ 4.5Ghz

67 degrees is far from "very high," that's for sure

I WILL find your ITX build thread, and I WILL recommend the SIlverstone Sugo SG13B

Primary PC: