Help me find a laptop to future proof with.

I am looking for a new laptop to invest in, my UX301LA is getting outdated and sluggish. 

Currently I am a student, but am looking to use this in my future years, when working. Requirements for the system are as follows; 

Battery - At least 5-6 hours, 4 would be fine, but higher is better of course. 

Screen size - 14"+, maybe even 15 if the screen ratio is high enough so that footprint isn't too big (I need to carry it in a bag)

Weight - Tbh, as long as it doesn't look bulky, I am happy with carrying a 3kg laptop 

GPU - I need a dedicated graphics card, 9 or 10 series NVIDIA 

Resolution - 2560x1440 is what I am used to, and find that is it a balance balance between the 1080 and 4k in terms of quality and battery life

storage - At last 256GB SSD, or 512GB would be ideal

IO - I still want old classic style USB's! For future proofing, a USB-C, with some option for connecting to HDMI, such as mini or full HDMI, SD card reader would be plus, 

I usually work on word, web browsing, use photoshop and make some music, as well as playing CS:GO, not a very demanding game, but want it to be able to run attest 100fps medium 1080. 

Ive had my eyes on the X1 Extreme and X1 Carbon 9th and 8th series respectively, but these are somewhat outside of my budget options, unless they meet these requirements for under 1500-1600$ or euro. also seen the XPS 15 and 13, but don't prefer the IO, unless there are really no other options...

Thanks!

"Future proofing" a desktop is hard as is, but with laptops? Good luck.

What are you exactly doing with your laptop? Study stuff and CS:GO? You don't need a backbreaker for that.

The problem is that this is an nVidia product and scoring any nVidia product a "zero" is also highly predictive of the number of nVidia products the reviewer will receive for review in the future.

On 2015-01-28 at 5:24 PM, Victorious Secret said: