missing capacitor(I think)on X399motherboard socket. does this need replacing, and how should I do it?

for some context, i recently bought 3 broken threadripper motherboards with the hope that i could repair them and use one in a project. one of the boards is badly damaged and i am intending to use as a donor board. the board in the pic isnt as bad. i have spent about an hour straitening bent pins, and now the only thing i can see wrong is the missing item, which i belive is a capacitor. each of them is about 2-3mm long.

i have looked into micro soldering and think it would be possible to de-solder a cap from the donor board and put it on the board which is in better shape. problem is im a complete noob and have very little electrical knowledge and 0 micro soldering experience. 

I would like to know if the cap is even necessary, as im aware sometimes extra components are used for redundancy. if i do need to fix it, would this tool be enough(TS100): 
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MDTO6X7/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=rossmanngroup-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B01MDTO6X7&linkId=2d7c13ceaf8725fb1aadce13d12a16c3

i saw that Louis Rossman recommended it, and it is fairly inexpensive compared to the alternatives. 

I would also be interested to hear about solder/flux recommendations for this project, as its another area i know very little about.

any info, advice, recommendations or tips would be really helpful to me. thank you for reading.

solder job1.png

There is nothing missing there... it's just smaller than the other ones.

NEW PC build: Blank Heaven   minimalist white and black PC     Old S340 build log "White Heaven"        The "LIGHTCANON" flashlight build log        Project AntiRoll (prototype)        Custom speaker project

Spoiler