Updating to latest Bios

HI I was wondering if someone could help me out in updating my bios.

My Specs:

Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 9 Rev 1.(x299)

Graphics: Gigabyte Aorus GTx 1080 ti

Ram : G skull RGB 32gb 3000 

Cooler: Next kraken 62

CPU: Intel i7 7820x

Drive: M.2 ssd 512gb + 3tb barracuda

PSU: 1000w mastercooler

Currently my bios version is F6. While browsing the support page for the motherboard, theres a update in the bios ( F8i). I was wondering if it is ok to update the motherboard using the F8i version? I have never updated the bios and im very new to this. What is the safest way to update the bios?

Pages 97-101 of the manual you can download from the Gigabyte website for your motherboard gives you step by step instructions on several ways you should be able to do it. If you go for updating it through Windows, it looks like you need to download Gigabytes app center and install @BIOS utility from there. If you've got a spare USB thumb drive and haven't got the app center thing installed, then I would just follow the Q-Flash instructions, they seem fairly comprehensive. Just make sure you don't turn off the computer or anything until the flash have been completed.

generally speaking I avoid updating the bios unless I need to because it can brick your computer if you're not careful 

i7-8700k @ 4.8Ghz | EVGA CLC 280mm | Aorus Z370 Gaming 5 | 16GB G-Skill DDR4-3000 C15 | EVGA RTX 2080 | Corsair RM650x | NZXT S340 Elite | Zowie XL2730 

1 minute ago, AntiTrust said:

generally speaking I avoid updating the bios unless I need to because it can brick your computer if you're not careful 

^^^ You don't need to unless you're on new hardware (like Zen 2), having bugs, or just got an ancient board and need to make sure it works with your newer CPUs (I had to update the BIOS on my X58 Classified to make sure it had everything it needs to work with my Westmere-EP Xeons, that specific board needed a hardware mod as well).