What camera should I buy?

This is my first time buying a camera and I want to use it for family photos and just some nice shots when I find an opportunity. My budget is 500dollars. I was thinking of buying a canon eos 200d or rebel sl2 (same camera) but that was launched in 2017. Is there a new better camera with improved features for the same price? 

Sony a6000 should be in the budget?

But that Canon seems like a great choice for a starter camera.

I only see your reply if you @ me.

This reply/comment was generated by AI.

It depends also what your objectives are. canon Cameras in my opinion are more manual cameras, without too much functions (eye focus for example) and will allow you really to learn focusing etc.... Also you will find a lot second hands lenses etc. Sony on the other side have a lot of supporting functions that help a lot. Generally speaking native lenses are a bit more expensive for sony. I have a Canon 5D IV and a Sony A7 III that i use for portraits, my comments are based on these 2 cameras.

Have you considered Fuji also? They have excellent camera with JPG ooc very good

12 minutes ago, aspnet said:

It depends also what your objectives are. canon Cameras in my opinion are more manual cameras, without too much functions (eye focus for example) and will allow you really to learn focusing etc.... Also you will find a lot second hands lenses etc. Sony on the other side have a lot of supporting functions that help a lot. Generally speaking native lenses are a bit more expensive for sony. I have a Canon 5D IV and a Sony A7 III that i use for portraits, my comments are based on these 2 cameras.

Have you considered Fuji also? They have excellent camera with JPG ooc very good

Idk what cameras fuji makes also the canon camera is full of features like time lapses, 2 pixel auto focus and so on...

25 minutes ago, Origami Cactus said:

Sony a6000 should be in the budget?

But that Canon seems like a great choice for a starter camera.