Ryzen 9 Linux KVM Host, Windows 10 VM weighing pros and cons

Go to solution Solved by SveguS,

Thanks @enjin_ and @Electronics Wizardy for your suggestions. I was looking for more specific suggestions on hardware and their ability to actually work with passthrough. Like you mentioned @Electronics Wizardy regarding motherbards, that led me to this video by Level1Linux.

That pretty much covered all the bases for me, with pros cons on a couple of different motherboards and their ability to passthrough different components. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

I am new to tinkering with Linux KVM so I wanted to ask here for advice.

Here is what i was hoping to achieve!

1 Linux Host and 1 Windows VM.

Asus ROG Crosshari VIII Formula or Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra S-AM4 ATX perhaps? Is there performance benefits to either option?
Ryzen 9 3900X
64GB 3000MHZ DDR4
Geforce 1070 - Windows VM
Geforce 1060 - Linux Host
1 Samsung NvME 512 GB - Windows VM
1 Samsung NvME 512 GB - Linux Host
x amount of mechanical hdds for storage, etc.
Expansion cards for USB/Sound any extra peripherals needed for the VM. (The x570 motherboards dont have a lot of expansion card slots its the two GPU slots and maybe one more. Is there options other options?)

Could I benefit from watercooling all this? Or would air coolers be perfectly fine. I am not looking to overclock any of the components. Squeezing fps out of the gaming experience is not what i need.

I run my workstation on linux, use KVM to dedicated CPU cores/threads/dies? To the Windows VM, running Win10 to game on. (I know linux gaming has come a long way but i have no great way of using my own game library on DVDs/CDs/ etc in linux so Windows is better option for me). Today I dual boot my rig with a different HDD when I want to game but instead id like to have both machines running at the same time with a dedicated Monitor and shared mouse/keyboard.