PC won’t boot after thermal paste clean.

Javo___

To start I’m still learning with computers, but let’s begin. I was playing on my pc and it had been having awful stutters for about two weeks and I finally got fed up and asked a friend what could possibly be wrong, to which he told me to check the core temp, which was a nice and cool 93 C. I went ahead and took off my H60 and went to cleaning off the gunk, unplugging the power cord, the heatsink 4 pin and the heat sink fan 3 pin before starting. Finished up and I had to reset CMOS because my PC wouldn’t boot and I am now met with my PC booting but displaying a signal to my monitor and the EZ Debug lights on the motherboard cycling white light:

CPU —> VRAM 

Does anyone have any idea what this could be? I feel like the CPU might be shot after dealing with the heat for that long, but hopefully that isn’t the case. 

CPU: Intel i5-6600k

RAM: Crucial 4G x2

GPU:MSI 1060 6GB

Mobo: B250 PC MATE

Heatsink: H60 Corsair

Monitor: VG248QE

Hi there,

Hope you are doing well.

Have you tried reseating the CPU by any chance? when cleaning the CPU, the chances are you might have put a little too much pressure on it. also perhaps check to see if all the motherboard pins are intact.

I had this exact issue on x99 and it wouldn't register memory because of it

also remount the cooler, and screw the screws only finger tight, tight enough to get a good mount of force, but not too much

Also don't panic, I don't think your CPU is dead

Keep us all posted and I hope it goes well for you!

9 minutes ago, Javo___ said: