M.2 cache accelerated 60TB NAS?

Ripper7620

I would recommend amd from this because consumer chipset support ecc so you don't need to pay extra for the xeon.

Additionally what operating system do you plan to use?

If you are using freenas i believe you can use an nvme ssd to avoid having to need crazy amounts of ram.

Thank you very much for the feedback. I will be using FreeNas as the OS, and it will be a multi-function apparatus. I'm new to NAS and will have to further explore what is possible. I want to leave as many options open as possible as far as specific uses.

3 minutes ago, Ripper7620 said:

Thank you very much for the feedback. I will be using FreeNas as the OS, and it will be a multi-function apparatus. I'm new to NAS and will have to further explore what is possible. I want to leave as many options open as possible as far as specific uses.

What do you mean by multifunction? VMS? backup?

You can use the ssd as a l2arc or a slog. 

A l2arc is the place where the ram cache goes when its not needed. Its normally not that usefull, but depends on use. I was messing with one on my server and only getting a hit ration of about 2% compared to the arc hit ratio of about 60%.

A l2arc has a ram overhead, so ram is needed to index it. Normally get more ramm before you get a l2arc.

A slog keep track of what the file system is doing and works as a write cache in simple terms. This only helps for sync writes, so it may be completely useless if you aren't using sync.

Is this server already built or still in planning? if its still in planning, id change some parts around, its not optimal as a nas.

Sorry, I forgot to add that I will be using using it in conjunction with Mac, Windows, and iOS devices. 

Just now, Ripper7620 said:

Sorry, I forgot to add that I will be using using it in conjunction with Mac, Windows, and iOS devices. 

Then you probably using cifs, so a slog won't help at all.