Which Language to learn?

Bakerking31

I was a CS major back in 2004 but ended up switching my major before graduating.  Now I would like to teach myself some basic programing.  Back in 2004 it was C++ ... I don't remember any of it.  I use a lot of Visual Basic for Excel in my daily work so I am not a complete noob to any type of programing but I am not up to date on anything current.

I run an UnRaid server and I see a lot of people on those forums using Python to create code to fix their particular issues, so I was leaning to Python.  It needs to be something that has a practical application to me or I will never learn it (just the way I learn).  I am not familiar with the options that are out there and what is best for what.  Any advise on where to look or what languages I should learn would be appreciated.

i5-6600k @ 4.5ghz || XFX RX-480 GTR || 16gb DDR4 || Lots of SSD's.

If you're looking for something worthy of putting on a resume, the languages (At least last I checked) were:

• C
  • C++
  • C#
  • Java
  • JavaScript
  • MySQL/SQL
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Ruby

It depends on what kind of application development you're looking at. If you're doing server maintenance or IT work, Python and shell scripting is probably the way to go.

This would just be for me.  I wouldn't put it on a resume or look for a job in the field.  I am happy in my current job which is way outside the IT field.  I just want a project to advance myself.

8 minutes ago, Bakerking31 said:

This would just be for me.  I wouldn't put it on a resume or look for a job in the field.  I am happy in my current job which is way outside the IT field.  I just want a project to advance myself.

I'd go with Python or JavaScript (using node.js), since they both have an a console interpreter you can use to play around without having to write up source files and such.