Help with zombie computer

Ok, so i have this old home pc that was a custom prebuilt. the motherboard is toast. parents got 2 old optiplex 780's, one is windows xp and one is 7, basically identical. I'm taking the hdd from the prebuilt and popping it into the win7 computer, but so far it doesnt want to work. I'm currently running tests on the thing and would like some pointers on how to get the damn thing working. some other info is that the prebuilt has an amd processor (AM3 cpu socket). the XP computer is still in ddr2 and uses a vPro processor. I also have a good computer case (nzxt source 220 mid tower). I also have a whole pile of old dell laptops to scavenge if i want, but they may not be the easiest of solutions.most of the time when i try booting it says no boot drive found, so i went onto the BIOS and removed everything except the hdd from the boot list, and after a little while found myself running tests through some i-dont-even-know-what-it-is program. I'm pretty new to computers but absorb knowledge like a sponge so tell me whats going on, and please do get technical. (i am pretty good with computers tho, so dont go thinking im a noob or something)

i cant even tell what the problem is. ok so you put a new HDD in another computer? and now that computer isnt working? 

I spent $2500 on building my PC and all i do with it is play no games atm & watch anime at 1080p(finally) watch YT and write essays...  nothing, it just sits there collecting dust...

Builds:

The Toaster Project! Northern Bee!

The original LAN PC build log! (Old, dead and replaced by The Toaster Project & 5.0)

Spoiler

"Here is some advice that might have gotten lost somewhere along the way in your life. 

#1. Treat others as you would like to be treated.

#2. It's best to keep your mouth shut; and appear to be stupid, rather than open it and remove all doubt.