Headphones

Hello good people. I am very new to this topic and a noob in home theatres. Recently I planned to move from a 2.1 setup for my TV (Logitech Z-623) to a receiver and separate speaker setup. Currently, I plan to go with the Sony STR-DH790 as my receiver and start off with a 2.0 setup with the ELAC's debut 2.0 b6.2 bookshelf speakers.

My concern is as I never had a receiver before and I mainly used a wireless pair of gaming headphones for my Playstation 4, the Sony Reciever has a "Phones" output on the front and that got me thinking if that would be sufficient for driving the headphones I use with my PC as they are way better headphones. The headphones are the Sennheiser HD650.

Even if it does drive the headphones properly, will the quality be any good? I do own an external desktop amp which is never used as I mainly use the soundcard in my PC which is a Xonar Essence STX to drive the headphones. The external amp I have is a Fiio E09K. If the amplification is not sufficient then can I use the Fiio to power the headphones?

And how will I connect the Amp to the receiver? The amp has an AUX-in, a PRE_OUT and a LINE OUT on the back.

Thanks for any input.

3 hours ago, apurv1595 said:

Hello good people. I am very new to this topic and a noob in home theatres. Recently I planned to move from a 2.1 setup for my TV (Logitech Z-623) to a receiver and separate speaker setup. Currently, I plan to go with the Sony STR-DH790 as my receiver and start off with a 2.0 setup with the ELAC's debut 2.0 b6.2 bookshelf speakers.

My concern is as I never had a receiver before and I mainly used a wireless pair of gaming headphones for my Playstation 4, the Sony Reciever has a "Phones" output on the front and that got me thinking if that would be sufficient for driving the headphones I use with my PC as they are way better headphones. The headphones are the Sennheiser HD650.