Anyone got simple explanations for these?

shirokado

Trying to teach my sister java(she's taking it for school or something), but I'm a terrible teacher and get irritated easily if she doesn't understand. So any ELI5 explanations for a string? She's been doing the assignments with the goal to complete it, not understand it, she's learning math.random in class, but doesn't even have a grasp on how string or easyreader(the cancerous way to add inputs) works. She know's how to do it if asked to, but doesn't understand what exactly a string it.

Fractal Design Define R4 | MSI x79a-GD45 | 3960X @ 4.6Ghz | Lots of EK Blocks | EVGA GTX780Ti 3GB | Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (4x4) DDR3 1866 | Samsung 840 Pro 512GB SSD | Western Digital Red 2TB x4 (Raid 10) | Corsair AX760 | Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Understanding it more important then being able to repeat a task

Which is exactly my point, but my head works so weirdly and goes all over the place, never been good at explaining concepts. 

Fractal Design Define R4 | MSI x79a-GD45 | 3960X @ 4.6Ghz | Lots of EK Blocks | EVGA GTX780Ti 3GB | Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (4x4) DDR3 1866 | Samsung 840 Pro 512GB SSD | Western Digital Red 2TB x4 (Raid 10) | Corsair AX760 | Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

I guess you could start off explaining how objects work in Java, and that a string is an object and go from there?

I would recommend she start from the beginning using a book or tutorial to work at alongside her classes. This will present information to her in a different way so she doesn't have to rely on the class to learn everything. This is helpful if things are poorly explained in class or move at a pace too fast for her. It will also stop you from having to teach her as much.