I'm a freelance video editor and I'm planning my high end editing build and I've done a fair bit of research but I feel like I need a sanity check.

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/user/iEditVideo/saved/HKcbXL

My budget is £4000 and I'm looking to get high performance with 4K raw editing with capability to work with higher resolutions (RAM upgrade might be necessary).

I'm waiting for the Threadripper 2950x at the end of the month and the RTX 2080 Ti when its available to ensure I'm future proofing as much as possible. I've put a 1950x and high price 1080ti in the build as placeholders. I'm planning to reuse some drives from my current build, 2 x 256gb SATA SSD in raid and a 480gb SATA SSD. Storage is going to be key and I want it to be as flexible as possible, the 4x 4TB drives will be in RAID 5 in a USB 3.1 gen 2 external enclosure so that I can access through other machines if needed. The 2x 1TB SSDs will be in RAID 0 as my main editing drive with hourly backups to the external RAID. I'm probably going to build an Unraid server in the future connected with 10Gbps ethernet and I've chosen a motherboard with it included as the price difference between one with and without seems to be less than buying a separate card, is this a good idea?

If you can think of anything I've missed please let me know and suggestions are always welcome.

Edit: Currently using 2 Dell 24 inch 1080p colour accurate monitors, Corsair K95 RGB (MACRO KEYS!!!!) and a Corsair Scimitar (MORE MACRO KEYS!!!!). I'm probably going to invest in a large 4K monitor in the next year or so.

Edited by Bakedpanda
added stuff

64 gb ram 

the system that you have though looks really safe, you want something like this right?

I'm going for 4x8gb so I have an easy upgrade path to 64GB RAM. I cant fit it in the budget at the moment.

As for the NAS, I'm probably going to rebuild my old system with a raid card and 10gbe so I have more budget for drives.

16 minutes ago, Bakedpanda said: