Can you divide the load over two connections in Windows 10?

Verrierr

Hello everyone,

For the past couple of weeks on and off I've been forced to use a very unsteady internet connection. Still I do like my net games so I've been using a connection tethered from my phone (sad I know) which is somehow way more reliable even if average latency is a bit higher (up to 10ms). The problem is I have a data limit on my mobile device so I can't just use it for the more bulky stuff since it will run out immediately. My solution so far has been to switch between the two whenever I need to, but it's getting kind of tedious. Recently I've been thinking about setting it up so I can just keep my laptop connected both ways at all times. I'm pretty sure that all I need to do is add a couple persistent routes to my routing table and use metrics to force system to use the one I want for every task. Sadly I'm no expert on the subject and I'm kind of stuck wondering how to figure out net destinations of my game's packets, so I'm loooking for someone with more knowledge on the subject than myself.

Hm... I've never done this myself, but theoretically, using Windows firewall rules for various apps, you could force certain programs to only use one or the other connection

also I think you mean "load", not "loud" :P

Edited by Ryan_Vickers

Solve your own audio issues  |  First Steps with RPi 3  |  Humidity & Condensation  |  Sleep & Hibernation  |  Overclocking RAM  |  Making Backups  |  Displays  |  4K / 8K / 16K / etc.  |  Do I need 80+ Platinum?

If you can read this you're using the wrong theme.  You can change it at the bottom.

7 minutes ago, Ryan_Vickers said:

also I think you mean "load", not "loud" :P

Yeah that's a typo, thanks. I'll investigate about your tip on the firewall.

31 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

Not sure if you bothered to read anything beyond the topic's title. This does not solve anything for me as far as I can tell.