OS recommendations for media server

Wikedeye

I picked up a dell studio xps form the salvage pile at work.  It has a 990x and 32 gb of ram and works just fine, its just been replaced by a newer system.  i am thinking of using at home for a NAS/Media Server.  I am just curious what OS would be the best for my needs.  I want something easy to use, but not limited.  I have access to windows server, but I am leaning more towards a linux distro.  I have some experience with linux, but I am not a daily user, so there would be a bit of a learning curve.

I would suggest FreeNas with the Plex media server plugin. It works perfectly.

I5 4470     -     Cooler Master Hyper 212 evo    -    Asus Strix GTX960    -    12Gb ram    -    Adata SP600 128Gb    -    Seagate 2Tb    -    AsRock Fatal1ty B85 Killer    -    Seasonic M12II EVO 520        

IN WIN 703    -     Dell P2414H    -    LG Flatron M197WDP    -    CMSTORM Quickfire XT with MX blue's    -    Logitech  G502

"To finish first, you first have to finish"

No matter what OS you pick, with that much ram.. make sure to setup a ramdisk (10-16gb) for plex transcoding. It'll save your SSD from a ton of temp writing... and its lighting quick compared to an old mechanical drive.

Plex. RamDisk. Any OS.

In business.

My username is both misspelled and redundant. Don't take anything I say seriously as I am a moron.     

CPU: Intel i7 4790k GPU: GTX 970 MSI RAM: 16gb of DDR3 hotness Boot Drive: 240gb m.2 samsung 850 evo Storage Drives: 8tb ironwolf, 4tb WD Monitors: 3x HP Elite Displays

1 hour ago, Heffe_The_Boss said:

No matter what OS you pick, with that much ram.. make sure to setup a ramdisk (10-16gb) for plex transcoding. It'll save your SSD from a ton of temp writing... and its lighting quick compared to an old mechanical drive.

Plex. RamDisk. Any OS.

In business.