What am I looking for when buying a graphics card?

Hello,

I'm wondering what is it about graphics cards I need to look for. I'm not very good with computers so I don't quite understand what sort of things to look out for when buying a graphics card, does branding matter? Do graphics cards with the same name need different power requirements? What is the different between a gtx 970 and 1070? Which numbers means it's better?

I would like some answers please, your suggestions are appreciated :)

Update: I guess as a benchmark I would like to play games at high settings 720p at 60fps, my games of choice are the witcher 3 and fallout 4.

Edited by Kragos

RGB!!!!

On a real note how much money are you looking on spending on a graphics card ?

8 minutes ago, Kragos said:

Hello,

I'm wondering what is it about graphics cards I need to look for. I'm not very good with computers so I don't quite understand what sort of things to look out for when buying a graphics card, does branding matter?

People's opinions will vary, but at the end of the day, it really doesn't matter.

Except Sparkle. Don't get anything from them. :P

Do graphics cards with the same name need different power requirements?

Sometimes, but not always.

What is the different between a gtx 970 and 1070? Which numbers means it's better?

The GTX 1070 has 8GB of VRAM (4GB more (I consider the GTX 970 as a 4GB card)), more shader units for performance, better DX12 compatibility, among other things.

As for the numbers:

Spoiler

NVIDIA has been following this naming schema, more or less:

[Performance Prefix] [Model Number/Other] [Modifier]

Examples: GTS 450, GTX 560 Ti, GTX 1080, GTX Titan

Performance Prefix was supposed to give a "quick glance at what performance tier this part is in" much like what the other companies what to do with their parts. Except after the GeForce 500 series, every model you could buy was a GTX card. As of the GeForce 10 series, every card is a GTX card.