Debating New Ryzen Build for Work from Home Virtualization/Tab hoarding and Occasionally Gaming

I just got a new job and will be moving to a very cheap place to live and figured I might reward myself with a fresh setup.

I am a work-from-home support/systems engineer and I like to have a system I can horribly abuse with VMs and a million tabs.

My desk currently has two machines connected with Synergy:

Linux Desktop:

Quirky SuperMicro ATX server board 

E5-2670 v1

128GB DDR3

LSI 9260 8i w/ 

2x SSDs in Raid 0

3x 3TB in Raid 1

(Cachecade is too expensive)

GTX 970

Gaming Rig:

2600k @ 4.2

32GB DDR3

2x850 EVO 500 in Raid 0

GTX 1070 (Currently gaming at medium settings 4k or 1440p High)

I was thinking of getting a Ryzen system as it would let me do the virtulization the best. It looks like I might even be able to put the 970 in the system and use AMD-Vi if the board will support it. My problem is I can't justify it if I get no real performance upgrade from this system from either of the other two. I don't mind spending some time to overclock on the new system but when I jump from the Xeon or the i7 to the Ryzen system, will I even notice the difference?

I was thinking of buying:

Gigabyte x370 k7 board

1700X(plan to be lazy on overclocking again)

64GB DDR4

Corsair H80i (GT or Extreme whatever they are calling it now)

2x850 EVO 500 (This will let me RAID 10 the 4 drives together with little CPU performance penalty, avoid scary RAID, and give me the boosted read performance from 4 drives.)

This keeps me around the $1500 budget, I might strip out the evos to save some coin waiting for an NVME drive.

I am just not sure it is worth it and I want you guys to talk me into or out of it.