photographing a wedding

My sister's best friend is getting married in a couple of months and they are now planning the guest list and catering.  they want to hire someone to photograph their wedding and the professional photographer they want is charging them $2000.  I think this is a waste of money. how can I convince my sister's best friend to let me photograph the wedding?  I have been photographing as a hobby for a few years. I am a member of a camera club with talented photographers and been asked to tutor beginners. my photos are very good and I own a very nice camera and pro lenses.  I think pro photographers are overrated and my sisters friend deosnt need to pay so much money.

thanks,

Dexter

There's a reason wedding photographers are able to charge so much. Being there to take pictures is the photographer's job. If you were there as a friend you would probably be taking part in the event meaning either you miss out on a lot of the event or you are not taking pictures when you should be. Do you know how to manage working with crowds of people? There's also the work after the fact touching up the pictures. Between the day spent taking pictures and the day or three that will be spent on finding the best pictures and cleaning them up, that $2000 makes sense.

Taking pictures with your cellphone is NOT how you take pictures of weddings, let them do it.

Please, follow your own posts and mention me in comments, otherwise i won't be able to help you.

Daily OS: OpenBSD -current

34 minutes ago, dexterjones28 said:

I have a question: do you have any experience taking photos at an event, or how you'd plan or prepare to take photos at one?

Since we're talking about wedding photography here, a good wedding photographer(s):

• Meets with the potential clients
  • Makes a list of all the key moments that needs to be captured (and for a wedding it can be a long list)
  • Arrives early, is prepared with all the essential gear and with the necessary spare/backup gear